Program Leadership and Faculty


In addition to our Program Director, Dr. Kenya McNeal-Trice, our Leadership Team includes:

Wesley Burks, MD - Chair, Department of Pediatrics
In addition to Department Chair, Dr. Burks is a member of the Division of Allergy and Immunology at UNC.  He attended medical school at the University of Arkansas and completed residency training at the Arkansas Children's Hospital.  Prior to coming to UNC, he was a member of the Duke University faculty.

Julie S. Byerley, MD, MPH - Vice Chair of Education, Department of Pediatrics
Dr. Byerley, a general pediatrician, received her MD from Duke University School of Medicine.  She completed residency training at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, where she also served as a Chief Resident.  From 2002-2010, Dr. Byerley was the Director of Medical Student Education for Pediatrics and served as Program Director from 2010-2013.

Kaye Gable, MD - Associate Program Director
Dr. Gable is a general pediatrician and the Program Director for the Pediatric Teaching Program of the Moses Cone Health System. She received her MD degree from Wake Forest University School of Medicine and completed residency training at Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center.  Dr. Gable served as Medical Director of the newborn nursery until 2009 when she became Program Director at MCHS.

Harvey J. Hamrick, MD - Associate Program Director
Dr. Hamrick is a general pediatrician at UNC.  He received his MD from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, where he also completed residency training and served as a Chief Resident.  Dr. Hamrick served as Program Director of the Residency Program from 1987-2010.

Diane Howell, MD - Associate Program Director
Dr. Howell is a member of the Division of General Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine at UNC and she also serves as Director of the Resident Continuity Clinic.  She is a graduate of the University of Florida College of Medicine and completed residency training at UNC.  She also served as a UNC Pediatric Chief Resident.

Stephen Leinenweber, MD - Associate Program Director
Dr. Leinenweber is pediatric critical care specialist and Associate Director of Pediatrics at WakeMed. He completed his medical school and pediatric residency in Chicago at Rush University and Cook County Hospital, respectively. After residency, he completed his fellowship training in critical care medicine at Duke University. In 2003, he joined the UNC faculty.

Michael Steiner, MD - Associate Program Director
Dr. Steiner is Chief of the Division of General Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine.  After graduating from Temple University School of Medicine, he joined the UNC Medicine/Pediatrics Residency Training Program.  Dr. Steiner served as a UNC Pediatric Chief Resident.

Mark Connelly, MD; Alison Herndon, MD, MSPH; and Stephanie Permar, MD - Chief Residents
Dr. Connelly graduated from the University of North Carolina School of Medicine; Dr. Herndon from the University of Colorado Denver School of Medicine; and from the Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University, Dr. Permar.


Our residents have the opportunity to work with exceptional faculty at three locations:

  • North Carolina Children's Hospital
  • WakeMed
  • Moses Cone Health System

North Carolina Children's Hospital Faculty

Allergy and Immunology
Wesley Burks, MD; Michelle Hernandez, MD; Tim Moran, MD, PhD; David Peden, MD; and Brian Vickery, MD

Scott Buck, MD; John Cotton, MD; Elman Frantz, MD; Blair Robinson, MD; Jennifer Whitham, MD; and Sunita Ferns, MD

Critical Care
Jenny Boyd, MD; Katherine Clement, MD; Cheri Hanson, MD; Benny Joyner, MD, MPH; Keith Kocis, MD; Afsaneh Pirzadeh, MD; Tina Willis, MD; Rebecca Smith, MD

Emergency Medicine
Cheryl Jackson, MD; Amy Levine, MD; Mandisa McIver, MD; William Mills, MD, MPH; and Christine Walsh-Kelly, MD

Ali Calikoglu, MD; Marsha Davenport, MD; Nina Jain, MD; Shipra Patel, MD; Mala Puri, MD; Anna Spagnoli, MD; and Maureen Su, MD

Ajay Gulati, MD; Mike Kappelman, MD; Steve Lichtman, MD; Sabina Mir, MD; and Martin Ulshen, MD

General Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine
Molly Berkoff, MD, MPH; Julie Byerley, MD, MPH; Kathy Bradford, MD; Brian Bramson, MD; Wally Brown, MD; Tamera Coyne-Beasley, MD, MPH; Ria Dancel, MD; Eric Edwards, MD; Kori Flower, MD; Harvey Hamrick, MD; Rick Hobbs, MD; Diane Howell, MD; Allen Liles, MD; Jake Lohr, MD; Kenya McNeal-Trice, MD; Eliana Perrin, MD, MPH; Greg Randolph, MD, MPH; John Rusher, MD; Carl Seashore, MD; Mike Steiner, MD; John Stephens, MD; Ashley Sutton, MD; Jennifer Vincent, MD; Richard Wardrop, MD; Christine Williams, MD; and Sarah Zimmerman, MD

Genetics and Metabolism
Art Aylsworth, MD; Muge Calikoglu, MD, MPH; Joseph Muenzer, MD, PhD; and Cindy Powell, MD

Julie Blatt, MD; Ian Davis, MD, PhD; Stuart Gold, MD; John Hipps, MD; Kimberly Kasow, DO; Paul Monahan, MD; Rupa Redding-Lallinger, MD; Phillip Roehrs, MD; and Brent Weston, MD

Infectious Disease
Toni Darville, MD; Tom Belhorn, MD, PhD; Albert Collier, MD; Frederick Henderson, MD; and Ravi Jhaveri MD

Neonatal/Perinatal Medicine
Sofia Aliaga, MD; Carl Bose, MD; Matt Laughon, MD, MPH; Diane Marshall, MD, MPH; Martin McCaffrey, MD; Wayne Price, MD; Alan Stiles, MD; and Karen Wood, MD

Maria Ferris, MD, MPH, PhD; Keisha Gibson, MD; and William Primack, MD

Elisabeth Dellon, MD, MPH; Chuck Esther, MD, PhD; Marianna Henry, MD, MPH; Margaret Leigh, MD; Ceila Loughlin, MD; Marianne Muhlebach, MD; Terry Noah, MD; and George Retsch-Bogart, MD


Leonard Stein, MD and Eve Wu, MD

WakeMed Faculty

Ben Alexander, MD; Karen Chilton, MD; Bridget Donell, MD; Travis Honeycutt, MD; Stephen Leinenweber, MD; Mark Piehl, MD; and Ivy Pointer, MD

Rasheeda Monroe, MD; Carrie Dow-Smith, MD; Mythili Rajan, MD; Susan Sinden, MD; and Betty Witman, MD

Moses Cone Health System

Ola Akintemi, MD; Nicole Chandler, MD; Kaye Gable, MD; Maggie Hall, MD; Angie Hartsell, MD; Emily McCormick, MD; Suresh Nagappan, MD; Pamela Reitnauer, MD, PhD; Kathryn Wyatt, PhD; Michael Simmons, MD; Mark Uhl, MD; and David Williams, MD